10 comments on “Two Steps Forward – One Step Back

  1. Love the ‘name and blame’ phrase! Keep up the great work on your hobby/love. Yes, we gals do store stuff up in our heads, but we mean well when we unleash it! LOL :)

    • Hi Dana,
      The reason why the car is getting a strip out is because its now being done properly. Si i will wait. I can put my hand on my heart and say, my wife bought it for me. I often refer to it as my car I done this I got it etc. But without the wife, there wiuld be no car. Simple as that. The wife runs the house and if I say can I have and she says we can’t afford it then that’s fine by me. She can buy all the handbags she wants as long as the bills are paid. All I ask is a little pocket money if I need it for something. That suits me fine. I look after the cars and any insurance that needs doing. It works for us. :-)

        • Yeah she’s a great woman and we work well together. It was bought for me to occupy me as a hobby. It’s a long story I won’t tell on here but I might be persuaded to tell it to you via email, one day if you can handle it. Lol.

  2. Amen to that. Your right cutting corners and you know deep down you have done this or that and never be happy with it. Thats why I have gone back to wires, the wire wrap started to fray so I want some decent stuff, so its sort of done me a favour. But its bare and empty and it just makes me feel a little down, hindsight is a wonderful thing. I also took out the wiper motor witch is a complete pig of a job, mirror in a tiny space etc. The retaining spring pinged of and I cant find it. How annoyed was I?? Dont even ask!

  3. These things are sent to try us! As you say though, they are all learning experience and if there is no hurry to get the vehicle on the road then it makes sense to revisit it and get it done properly.

    Agreed on women, they have memories like Elephants or maybe Sharks? My wife can remember word for word what I said in an argument 10 years ago when I can’t even remember what I said a week ago….

    Loved the heater review. I have a gas fired heater, a little devil from Machine Mart. It is not so good as it requires so much ventillation during use that it negates the heat given out. In my case if I close the workshop doors and seal the gaps the heater warms the workshop up to a barmy temperature but then I die off of fumes. If I leave the doors open to give the required ventillation I gain no benefit from running the heater as I have to work in freezing draughts. I think your electric one works better in that respect as you can run it without needing ventillation.

    • My friend we are on the same wave length. I can’t remember yesterday but things said when we first meet are often resurfaced. Lol.
      Yeah theres no rush for the car to be on the road but I would like to take it to a classic car show this year as its the 50th anniversary. But if I have to wait then I wait. Glad you like the review, the heater is not bad at all and does have an advantage of no ventilation as you say, but I expect it will take longer than your heater to get the room hot. I find a 500w lamp also keeps the heat goin as I have it looking into the engine of my car in the garage!

      • LOL, I’d like to get my Land Rover completed by April, not just in time for my birthday but also for the start of the show season. However as it has taken 4 years so far to rebuild it what is another year to get the job done properly? I’ve also had to revisit certain areas that I thought I’d finished and crossed off my ‘to do’ list. Also I’ve spent time and money on things that many would consider trivial and less urgent than getting the engine running etc but as I’m building what is effectively my dream Land Rover I figure that I may as well take the time and spend the money on these things as I may not get another chance. Also what is the point in starting to build your dream vehicle if half way through you start cutting corners and compromising just to get it finished sooner?

Please Leave a Reply or Comment, I would love to hear from you.

